How to set default file associations for MPC (x64)?

2 posters

Go down

How to set default file associations for MPC (x64)? Empty How to set default file associations for MPC (x64)?

Post by Radish Sun Apr 28, 2024 3:52 pm

I am new to Windows 11. I have newly installed k-lite codec pack (standard) to the system. I have to set file associations so that they are assigned to MPC-HC.  The associations I want to set are for video file-types only (not for audio file-types). I have to do this by running MPC-HC as an administrator and through Windows Settings. But I'm getting really confused as there are so many file types listed there and trying to see the list MPC-HC provides and matching them in the Windows Settings GUI is causing me real problems.

However, then I noticed that the Settings page (GUI) I'm looking at is titled Apps > Default apps > Media Player Classic (x64) Then it dawned on me that maybe the file-type list that is there is set and restricted to the all the file-types that MPC can handle — am I correct in thinking this? And, if that is the case, is it okay for me to just set all the file-types listed there to be handled by MPC?

I hope my description and questions make sense.
Radish
Radish

Back to top Go down

How to set default file associations for MPC (x64)? Empty Re: How to set default file associations for MPC (x64)?

Post by Admin Sun Apr 28, 2024 8:11 pm

The installer can quickly set all file associations for you.

If you use multiple Windows accounts, then you have to use the Windows settings you mentioned. If you want to use it for everything, then you can select all there. It is only listed for things it supports.

Admin
Admin

https://codecs.forumotion.net

Back to top Go down

How to set default file associations for MPC (x64)? Empty Re: How to set default file associations for MPC (x64)?

Post by Radish Sun Apr 28, 2024 9:19 pm

Thank you for your response.