New to K-Lite and MPC-HC

2 posters

Go down

New to K-Lite and MPC-HC Empty New to K-Lite and MPC-HC

Post by markdewet Tue Sep 29, 2020 7:48 pm

Hi all,
I am new to the K-Lite codec pack and MPC-HC and have a few questions please:
1 How do I improve the sound of gunfire in videos? At the moment most of the sound is great, except for gunfire.
2: I have a Turando 5.1 surround sound system connected via 3 x 3.5mm analogue jacks to a CMI 8768+ sound card. Do I need LFE in ffdshow (or anywhere for that matter)enabled?
3: I have seen on some forums that madVR is better for playback than DIVXA. Can anyone please clarify this for me?

Apologies for the multiple questions from a newbie, please forgive. I really would like to get the best performance from K-Lite, as I have been very disappointed with VLC.

markdewet

Back to top Go down

New to K-Lite and MPC-HC Empty Re: New to K-Lite and MPC-HC

Post by Admin Tue Sep 29, 2020 10:32 pm

1. I don't know of a way to improve that. The "real" sound of a gun is pretty underwhelming, so the sound may just be correct already.
2. The codec pack uses LAV Audio Decoder by default. I don't recommend using ffdshow.
3. I think you mean DXVA? That is a method for hardware accelerated decoding. madVR is a video renderer. Those are totally different and unrelated things. madVR is for experienced users. I don't recommend to waste your time on that. The default settings are already good.

Admin
Admin

https://codecs.forumotion.net

Back to top Go down

Post by markdewet Wed Sep 30, 2020 6:20 pm

Admin wrote:1. I don't know of a way to improve that. The "real" sound of a gun is pretty underwhelming, so the sound may just be correct already.
2. The codec pack uses LAV Audio Decoder by default. I don't recommend using ffdshow.