reporting bugs and making suggestions...

2 posters

Go down

reporting bugs and making suggestions... Empty reporting bugs and making suggestions...

Post by SzDaniel Sat May 13, 2023 4:51 pm

Hi.

Media player classic HC is a wonderful player.
Thank you very much.

Btw, I am a computer programmer too (mostly Delphi/Pascal, some C...).
I have on Github a few utilities I created/improved over the years.

If I can help you guys somehow let me know...

Anyway...
I noticed just some small problems in mpcHC:

1. Fast seek (on keyframe) is still a little buggy (on both "nearest keyframe" or "latest keyframe"). It depends on the loaded video file.
It starts when I try to decrease the jump time from the default value.
At some point it seems the code fails/crashes because it starts using the default value instead of using the edited value.
For example if I decrease the medium jump distance from 5000 ms.

I have some experience in using large indexes and fast searching in them so, if you think I can help you please contact me.

2. Most of the modifications the user does on Pan & Scan should be remembered and loaded ONLY if the same video file is loaded again.
Some of them should be remembered only on video files resembling the original video file.

If you think are worth implementing but you can't find time, maybe I can help you..

3. The video file should be recognized (when loaded again) even if the folder is changed or even if the name of the file is changed.
I know it's not easy. I had faced the same problem in my video player.
How about reading bytes or chunks on large intervals (so it could read about 1% of the total video file size) and making a checksum? It's a lot faster than doing checksum for all bytes...

Suggestions:

1. The default number of recent files should be increased from 20 to a few hundred (at least).